Municipality Office The local bodies in the Union Territory of Puducherry were constituted by a French Metropolitan Decree dated 12th March 1880. The above decree divided the entire region into 8 communes. Each commune was provided with a Municipal Council consisting of Mayors and Deputy Mayors and Councilors for the Administration of its affairs. The decree which was the basic Law of Municipalities has now been replaced by the Pondicherry Municipalities Act, 1973.
The Pondicherry Municipality comprises the erstwhile Communes of Pondicherry and Mudaliarpet and its headquarters is in Pondicherry. The total number of wards is 42. The Municipal Council was dissolved on 31.03.1978 and a Special Officer has been appointed to exercise the powers and to perform the duties conferred and imposed upon the Municipal Council, including the Standing Committee and other Committees and that of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman and other authorities other than the Commissioner.
Pondicherry is the capital city of The Union Territory of Puducherry and is one of the most popular tourist destinations in South India.
The total area of Pondicherry Municipality is 19.46 Sq.Kms. Population as per 2011 census is 2,44,377. The Municipality is sub-divided into 42 wards as per de-limitation of wards, 1995 and is comprised of 8 Assembly Constituencies:
1. Muthialpet, 2. Rajbhavan, 3.Uppalam, 4.Orleanpet, 5.Nellithope, 6.Mudaliarpet, 7.Villianur (Part), 8.Ariyankuppam (Part)


As per 2011  census

wards 42 Wards
Population Total Population
Population Male
Population Female
1. Debassynpeth, 2. Muthialpet (west), 3. Muthialpet (east), 4. Solai Nagar, 5. Vaithikuppam, 6. V.O.C. Nagar, 7. Ramakrishna Nagar, 8. Thiruvalluvar Nagar, 9. ParimalaMudaliarThottam, 10. Kuruchikuppam, 11. PerumalKoil, 12. Raj Bhavan, 13. Calve College, 14. Cassucadi, 15. Kulathumedu, 16. Cathedral, 17. Chinnakadai, 18. Veerarveli, 19. Periapalli, 20. VambakeeraPalayam, 21. Colas Nagar, 22. Nethaji Nagar, 23. Vanarapet, 24. Goubert Nagar,25. Thirumudi Nagar, 26. Ilango Nagar 27. Pillaithottam, 28. Pudupalayam, 29. Kuyavar Nagar, 30. Sakthi Nagar, 31. Anna Nagar, 32. Orleanpet, 33. Periyar Nagar, 34. Nellima Nagar, 35. Bharathidasan Nagar, 36. Mudaliarpet, 37. Viduthalai Nagar, 38. Keerapalayam, 39. Thengaithittu, 40. NainarMandapam, 41. Murungapakkam, 42. Kombakkam,
Acts as Controlling Department for all Local Bodies.
Formulation of policies and new programmes for better governance of Local Bodies.
Approval of Budget and Shelf of Projects of Local Bodies.
Release of grants-in-aid to Local Bodies to take up works for providing basic civic amenities.
Reviewing the progress of execution of works and Revenue Collection by Local Bodies.
According Administrative approval and Expenditure sanctions to the proposals of local bodies wherever the financial powers delegated to Local Bodies exceeds.
Inspecting the Local Bodies and works executed by the Local Bodies.
Consolidation of Annual Administration Reports of Local Bodies and submission to Government.
At present, there are 5 Municipalities, 10 Commune Panchayats and 98 Village Panchayats in the Union Territory of Puducherry.